Nelson County Job Development Authority

The Nelson County JDA was established by the Nelson County Commission to support business development activities in Nelson County.  The Nelson County Commission annually appropriates funds to the functions of the JDA.  The RRRC provides contracted professional services to the Nelson County JDA.

The Nelson County JDA explores new business development opportunities, supports local community development efforts, and provides financial and technical assistance to develop and implement development projects.

The Nelson County JDA is governed by a Board of Directors which includes the following members:

  • Paul Retzlaff, Chairman (Aneta)
  • Donald Fougner (Aneta)
  • Elaine Brooks (Lakota)
  • Dennis Mattern (Lakota)
  • Amie Vasichek (Lakota)
  • Lule Naas (McVille)
  • Ranae Oxton (McVille)
  • Jay Vasichek (Michigan)
  • Steve Forde (Pekin)
  • Scott Sand (Pekin)
  • Kevin Sundre (Petersburg)
  • Rodney Fisk (Michigan)

Nelson County Storefront Improvement Program

The Nelson County JDA approved a storefront improvement program in June 2022. Under this program, the JDA will contribute up to $5,000 per project to be matched 1:1 with local funds. Eligible expenses include doors and windows, awnings or canopies, signs, paint, permanent outdoor lighting, and reconfiguration of entrances.

For questions on the program and/or how to submit an application, please contact NCJDA staff Stacie Sevigny at 701-352-3550 or

Program guidelines, application, and informational flyer can be found below:

Program Guidelines

Program Application

Completed applications and supporting documentation should be mailed to the RRRC office at:

516 Cooper Avenue, Suite 101 • Grafton, ND 58237

Or emailed to Stacie Sevigny at: